Ponderings of a little brown dog

Joey

Life is gooood 😀

Intro: In 2008, I gave the “kids” a chance to share their thoughts on my blog. The post below is one of five posts written at the time. I was archiving my old blog today and came across them, and thought I’d share them again 🙂 Enjoy!

Sadly, two of these “kids” are no longer with us; Jessi, and Baby. See the “meet the family” link for their stories.

**************************************
Hi.  My name is Joey, and Mum said I could say a few words.  What’s there to say?  I’ve loved before, and I got my heart broken when they left me in prison to do my time alone.  I still don’t know what I did that was so bad.  And then Mum came and took me home, and even though we fight sometimes, I adore her.  Mum has taught me a lot of things since I started living with her, like how to ask (she loves it when I ask for things), and I love performing for her.  Especially if she gives me cheese for doing it BOL

I’m the peacemaker in the family.  If Jessi and George are fighting, I’ll bark at them until they stop.  If Baby is getting into mischief … well, I’ll probably join her, but I’m telling her how wrong it is as we do.  If Mum is crying, even if it’s because of something I’ve done, I’ll go and cuddle her until she’s not crying any more.  If I can’t make it better, I can at least make her feel better.

I admit I do get excited when we’re going out, particularly if Mum says that most excellent word:  car!!! (Yes, spinning in such small circles does make me dizzy, but it’s the only way I can express how very excited I feel!) Then I know we’re going for a ride, and I love rides in the car.  I love rides on the ute even better!  I don’t like baths, though.  I’ll go out and get myself smelling all wonderful and doggy, and then Mum will wrinkle her nose and say I need a bath.  I have to say, having a shampoo might make her feel better, and the smell suits her, but it’s not for me.  I’m a dog, why can’t I smell like one?

I know it upsets Mum that I pee in the house, and I want to do better, I really do, but I can’t help it.  It hurts so much if I try to hold it in.  And then Mum gets mad at me, and I am so sorry, and I promise to do better next time, but then when next time comes, I have to pee, and I forget where I am supposed to pee if I can’t get out.

Mum’s been getting mad at Baby and me the past week or so.  Baby digs out, and I follow so that I can lead her home again.  But Mum doesn’t seem to realise this, and thinks we’re both escaping, and I’m getting in trouble too.  Well, today I decided Baby could get in trouble all by herself, and I stayed in the back yard.  When Mum had yelled at Baby, she came and petted me and let me in and gave me a treat.  So I think I’ll do that again next time, too.

Well y’all, it’s been swell, and I’ve loved talking to you, but I have to paw the computer back to Mum now.  Baby’s busy with that bone she thinks she stole from me (all the meat was gone, so I let her take it), and the cats are all asleep, so now I get to curl up with Mum while she types.

This entry was posted in Dogs, Joey, pet_blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

